IELTS TASK 2.Q.INCREASE AIR TICKET PRICE TO REDUCE AIR TRAFFIC

Q. AIR TRAVEL IS RESPONSIBLE FOR A LOT OF POLLUTION IN OUR ENVIRONEMENT.SOME PEOPLE THINK THAT PRICES OF AEROPLANE TICKETS SHOULD BE INCREASED IN ORDER TO REDUCE AIR TRAFFIC

DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE?

The salad days of third millennium has seen a prolific increase in people who travel by air. Consequently, there has been a view that air travel increases environmental pollution. Although there are few arguments in favour of hiking the price of airline tickets in order to reduce air traffic, I am of the opinion that there are much better ways to tackle this problem.

To begin, one of the main arguments of the proponents of increase in aero plane tickets is that this may hinder people from flying very often. However, I believe this argument does not stand up to scrutiny as there are clear evidences to suggest that those consider air travel as a favourite means of transportation belong to the upper class of the society and a small hike in air tickets does not make any difference in their choice. At the same time, this might have a huge impact on students and job seekers who resort to air travel out of necessity and which is not fair.

On the other hand, there are many possible ways to reduce the number of air travelers. The most tangible alternative is that the government could improve public transportation for longer distance to encourage frequent air travelers to give up flying. For instance, in Japan, the preferred choice of transportation of people is bullet trains that travel at the speed 350 to 400 kilo meters per hour and the Japanese barely travel by air. In addition to that, these trains run on cleaner energy such as nuclear and therefore do not pollute our air.

To conclude, while some people strongly argue that an increase in the price of flight tickets could result in decreased air traffic, I am unconvinced of the effect of such strategy as it seems to me that there are much better ways to do so.

Pleas help me to identify grammar mistakes and wrong choice of words in this essay and if possible, give me a band. Please tell me that whether I answered the question effectively. Any suggestions and advices are highly appreciated.