IELTS:To increase economic growth, government can neglect environmental concerns?

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? To increase economic growth, government can neglect environmental concerns.

People have devastating effects on the ecosystem when increase productivity and boost the economy. While some people argue that environment problems is the price authorities have to pay for economic development, I believe that government should seek a balance between environmental conservation and economic development, for society will plunge into the disaster with ecosystem degrading and the loss of biodiversity.

Firstly, ecological degradation caused by human activities will pose a threat to our planet, if without proper regulation. We can expect more extreme weather conditions, when more carbon emissions, the culprit of the global warming, was produced considerably by thousands of power plants. The global warming will have a significant impact on our planet, with the polar ice caps melting and sea level rising due to the increasing temperature. In addition, the greenhouse effect will also cause a series chain of reactions ranging from flooding and droughts, with the government no regard to the environmental conservation.

Furthermore, it will lead to the extinction of many species of animals and plants, if government do not realize the importance of environment. Nowadays, the forest ecosystem are being destroyed at an alarming rate, with considerable loss of biodiversity. In fact, people have cut trees down in large numbers without a plan, which will wreak havoc on the wild animals. Without habitats to live in, the wildlife in a region will only able to live in cages. Moreover, the more land is tuned over to farmland, the more plants will be wiped out. The reduction in the number of species will be accelerating, if government still permit over-grazing activities in order to develop the economy

In reality, authorities are now able to maintain the ecological equilibrium, with the advance of science and technology. If the government encourage people to use renewable energy source, the consumption of coal, oil and gas can be reduced. Besides, government should condemn rather than condone environmentally inefficient manufactures. Harsh actions with the supervision system should be applied by the government, in order that the human activities will not bring about permanent devastation.

In conclusion, I strongly disagree that government do not pay attention to environmental issues simply because of developing the economy. Neither should the authorities neglect importance of ecological balance, nor should we ignore the responsibility of the government.