IELTS: Increase of Illiteracy rate causes and effects on society

Illiteracy has traditionally been viewed as largely a third world problem.

However it is becoming apparent that in countries such as the USA and Australia, illiteracy is on the increase. Discuss possible causes for this and its effect on society

Education plays an important role in building a person's personality. Lack of education is an issue for many third world countries but it has been seen that some developing countries are also heading towards the threat. In the following paragraphs I will analyse its reasons and impacts on the society.

First of all, lack of family support is the main cause of literacy. Families do not tend to show interest in their children's education. As a result they start showing less interest in their studies and eventually stop it at a certain age. Furthermore, there are very few scholarships for the students who want to study but cannot bear their expenses. Therefore, they leave their education incomplete.

Second of all, the recession time the world is going through is another reason for the increased illiteracy rate. Countries like USA and Australia are not save from it, so children do not think it necessary to get an education. When they hear the unemployment news in media they find themselves reluctant from studies, so they abandon education and start looking for job. For a short term profit they do not know that they are losing many opportunities such as the best time to learn and a vast exposure in knowledge. When the children grow older they often regret of their decision and target society and people for all of their misfortunes.

To summarize, literacy rate can be raised by providing financial and emotional support to the children in the first world countries.