An increasing amount of students have negative attitude of learning. Why is this happening?

An increasing amount of students have negative attitude of learning. What do you think this is happening? What can be done about it?

In the present-day society, many educational problems have arisen. One of the serious issues is that an increasing number of students have negative feeling toward study. In my opinion, there are some possible causes of this phenomenon and some solutions can be taken into account.

To begin with, students today are given too much pressure from not only schools and parents, but also the society. Most of the students are told to confront with severe job-hunting competition since they are young. Under this cruel reality, the younger generations are given countless assignments and tests in order to get better academic performance. Gradually, students would study just for passing the exams and they lost interests in learning. Study is no longer fun but it is regarded as misery burdens.

Secondly, in most of the countries, some unnecessary subjects in curriculum are compulsory for students to take up, which are unlikely to help the majority of them in future career. Therefore, a science student may have to spend time remembering all the history questions while an art student may have to struggle with math problems. In the long- term, learning compulsory units that they don't actually need for building future career actually lessen their passion and energy in study.

However, I believe some measure can be done to relieve this situation. Firstly, parents and teachers should give less stress but more encouragements and motivations to the youngsters. Schools can set more scholarships as rewarded to courage more students to learn. Secondly, students should be told to aware that learning is happy. They should be told that it is the knowledge that helps us get rid of poverty to have a better live than those who live in poverty striken areas.

In conclusion, several factors contribute to the negative attitude towards studying. In my opinion, the whole society should try to help students to overcome these issues as possible as we can.