IELTS: The increasing business and culture contact between countries.

Some people say that the increasing business and culture contact between countries has the positive effect; others say it would lose the countries' identities. Discuss.

Globalisation has increased the integration between nations in terms of economic, cultural, and social aspects. Some hold the view that the influences are beneficial, while some suggest that it might therefore reduce the identities of nations. In this essay, the advantageous impacts as well as the disadvantageous ones will be presented.

To begin with, the economic activities increased enormously through the process of globalisation. For instance, foreign companies can set their production factories in the areas where human resources are less expensive, such as China and Vietnam, to reduce their costs. This can also improved the local economies in these developing countries. Nevertheless, these industrial activities are often lack of regulations. Worker safety and pollution, as an illustration, are sometimes ignored, which can lead to serious problem like fatality rates in the areas.

Furthermore, the growth of international contacts would reduce the uniqueness of the countries. A good example for this is the phenomenon of Americanisation. The United States of America is so powerful in every field that people in other countries assimilate into American culture, from huge fast food chains to the "English Mania" in countries like China and Japan. It is a fact that the fast food culture has branched into places where there were originally an incredible diversity of cuisines. In addition, the dominant status of English as a lingua franca has resulted in language death.

To sum up, it is no doubt that the influences of globalisation can be both beneficial and detrimental, by means of economy and culture. Nonetheless, we have to keep in mind that it is exactly because of the diversity that makes our planet exceptional, and it is certainly that we do not lose our values as well as identities when making our lives better.