Increasing fuel cost is just a band aid for solving environmental issues

TOPIC: THE BEST WAY TO SOLVE THE WORLD'S ENVIRONMENTAL PROBLEM IS TO INCREASE THE COST OF THE FUEL. TO WHAT EXTENT DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE?

There is no denying that fuel plays a major part in environmental problems nowadays. As the world is becoming more and more industrialized, the demand for fuels greatly increased. Some people believe that the solution for environmental issues faced by the world is to increase the cost of the fuel. However, I strongly disagree with this proposed solution as the world's environmental problems are not just solely caused by fuel use.

The popularity of the fuel increased as the world evolves mainly to urbanization. Fuels are needed for transportation and some factories to run and be used effectively. However, consumers who owns automobiles and other fuel-run establishments can still afford to pay the cost of the fuel, even though it is being raised. In my own country, most of the cars seen running in the streets are owned by rich people, who do not mind the price of fuel as long as they are within their comfort.

In addition, water pollution is also one to the major environmental issues that is being faced by the world especially in a third world country. In my own country, the laws regarding proper waste disposal are not imposed effectively. There are factories and residential homes that throw their effluents directly in the river without being treated, as a result, health concern regarding water contamination is always a problem.

Deforestation is also one of the major problems faced by our modern world today. Large areas of land are being made for urbanization in most parts of the world. In my country, we have experienced cases of horrible flash floods accompanied by landslides that killed hundreds of men, which results from illegal logging. Many people are being blinded by the profit they gain from cutting trees in support of modernizing a place. Also, the lack of proper education regarding the importance tree planting and the time interval for cutting trees posed a problem in some countries, which result in unmindful destruction of the environment.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that increasing fuel cost is just a band aid for solving environmental issues. Educating people about proper care for the environment and implementing the law regarding preservation of the environment will help solve the environmental concerns.