Increasing the fuel price will have a negative effect because it will increase the cost of transport

Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

What other measures do you think might effective?

solving growing traffic and pollution

While there a lot of people who think the best way of both reducing the number of cars on the street and preserving the environment is to raise the value of the fuel, Others disagree. It is a controversial issue and shall be discussed. As a matter of fact, I completely disagree with this kind of thinking. I will provide examples from my own experience to support my reasons.

Firstly, the public transportation system -like taxi and bus- use petrol. Therefore, If the government decides to raise the fuel price, taxis and buses also have to increase their fee. as a result, people prefer to use their own vehicles. For instance, I remember when the government raised the price of fuel, the public transportation became so expensive that more people started to use their own vehicles.

On the other hand, if the government starts to invest in the public transportation like railways, it will be more persuasive for people to do not use their cars. The main reason is that the new transportation system would be faster and cheaper. Also, It makes taxi and bus owners reduce their fee to attract people. For example, I witnessed that building metro significantly dropped the number of cars on the street.

One other crucial development would be to make special paths for people who want to use bicycle or motorcycle. They can also build places to rent them. I know many people that love to use a bicycle for transportation, but they either have to use street or sidewalk which are not safe.

In conclusion, I believe that increasing the fuel price will have a negative effect because it will increase the cost of transportation in general. The only way for countries to overcome issues like traffic and air pollution is to invest in their infrastructure to get the desired result.