IELTS Task 2 - The increasing influence of the young generation

Question: Young people in the modern world seem to have more power and influence than any previous young generation.

Why is this the case?

What impact does this have on the relationship between old and young people?

Young generation rules

Answer:

In today's society, it seems like the older generations are no longer a figure of authority. Rather, young people are becoming unprecedentedly influential in a number of ways. The results of this trend are various changes in the young - old generation relationship.

The influences that young people possess today are largely a result of technology development. Firstly, the wide availability of Internet provides not only unlimited sources of knowledge, but also new schools of thoughts and immediately updated events around the world for the youth. Such knowledge is a profound means of empowerment, as it provides young people with critical thinking skills and a more accurate view of the world around them. In addition, new means of communication, especially social media, offer a convenient platform for the young to express their opinions. As a result, young people nowadays constitute a major, influential part of public opinions on social matters.

As a result of this trend, the relationship between the old and young generations is undergoing profound, and mostly positive changes. Specifically, preceding generations used to be the powerhouse in the society. They were typically more knowledgeable, and thus carried more weight to their words. As young people start to be empowered by knowledge, the relationship seems to demonstrate more equality, which allows more converstion and understanding between the generations.

In conclusion, the rapid development of technology has given young people a more influential role in the society. Such change has made the relationship between young and old generations more equal. This appears to be a positive change since it allows generations to nurture more understanding in the inter-generation relationship.