[IELTS Writing] Increasing number of consumed sugar-based drinks? Why? What can be done to reduce?

Thank you so much for your feedbacks! I really appreciate it

more sugar-based drinks in the market than ever

Coming out as one of the highest caught illness in the world - diabetics has raised a number of concerns among health experts but clearly not the consumers. As the quantity of consumed sugar-based drinks continues increasing intensively. This essay will discuss the possible reasons and suggest solutions to tackle the aforementioned situation.

Factors contributing to the growth of sweat drinks consuming rate varies widely to different parties including manufactures, advertisements and consumers themselves. The size of the market providing bottled drinks is getting larger every day, there are more than one thousand types of drinks being sold in supermarkets, automatic drink booths installed in public and universities. With the power of advertisements which provides false information of nutrition values of those drinks, combined with its convenience and availability, sweetened drinks attract customers at every age. Leading as a part of this is the subjective attitude of people who not only do not considerately search for true values of this drink but also ignore the advice of doctors and helpful news from reliable sources. As the consumers have the tendency of favoring cheap and tasty drinks rather than paying more to get healthy expensive drinks.

Fortunately, this situation can be addressed by various measures. There should be stricter and transparent conditions of advertising control towards sugar-based drinks, whereby the information broadcasted would be less exaggerated, which also helps to reduce the number of advertisements. Therefore, when it comes to decisions, customers would not affected by the curiosity raised by watching advertisements, and consider the drinks based on the actual quality. Moreover, analyzing articles or news about the harmful effects of sweetened drinks should be prioritized to reach larger readers and more frequently in order to raise the awareness of consumers. The government can play an important role in restricting the production of those drinks by laying higher tax on them and encouraging manufacturers to produce more healthy drinks. This would change the price and limit the presence of sweetened drinks, which surely make a great impact on customer's habit of choosing low price or random picks.

Although sugar-based drinks sometimes can be a good choice because of its tasty and low price, overuse of those drinks would cause serious health debility. Therefore, it is responsibility of the whole society and government to apply plausible solutions to limit people consuming this unhealthy types of drinks.

Short summary

Why?

There are more and more sugar-based drinks in the market than ever.

It is advertised to give energy and provide vitamin which is good for the health

It is cheap and tasty and being sold everywhere, easy to find

How to reduce?