An increasing number of people are concerned about the benefits of studying the past in schools

Topic: Learning History

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task

To some people studying the past has little value in the modern world. Why do you think it is important to do so? What will be the effect if children are not taught history ?

Nowadays, an increasing number of people are concerned about the benefits of studying the past in schools. More specifically, whether history can be substituted by other significant subjects is a controversial issue. Personally, I think it is not wise choice to replace history by other subjects for many reasons.

First of all, studying history is not restricted to what happened in the past, but also with regard to the valuable human experiences. By this I mean, if people know the mistakes that had been done and caused in the past, they will avoid doing the same mistakes again. Take Vietnam as an example, that is, Vietnamese people fought a lot of wars in the past, but now they live peacefully because of some valued experienced that occurred years ago.

Besides, studying the past of other nations could give the opportunity in terms of knowing more about their society. This would help in boosting friendship bonding between different countries.

Moreover, children are the people who lead the world in the future, so they should prepare for this role. Basically, the knowledge which children acquire from history is one of the most important sources for their understanding of human society and other fields such as science. It is more likely that history can give a good information about the development of some inventions which could really helpful for inventors in the present of future.

To recapitulate, it is undeniable that history plays a vital role in our human society because of its useful experience. Things happened in the past either positive or negative, we still benefit those in the best way.