An increasing number of people in many nations are opting to live alone

IELTS WRITING TASK 2:Is living alone negative or positive?

In some countries, more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think that is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, an increasing number of people are opting to live alone in many nations. However, whether the trend is a positive or negative change is a controversial issue.My view is that it has both destructive and constructive influences.

First, it is obvious that when people live on their own, they have a more flexible schedule for their activities.This means that they do not have to subject their family's rule about what time they can play an instrument or even go out for a party.For example, while young adults have modern lifestyles such as working lately or hanging out with friends at a club or holding a night party at weekends, their parents have more ingrained ones therefore they would not get along well in daily basis if live together. Moreover, people would be more financially independent if they live by their own.This is because the young generations are more vulnerable and insecure when they live off their parents and learning how to survive in real life is the good way of being grown-up which also reduces burdens for their family.

That is not to say that living alone is always beneficial for people.Of course, managing to live in real life means that individuals may encounter some tough situations, especially when they are in an emergency such as severe illnesses like heart attack or even got bit by a snake that could risk their life without receiving help from others. Besides, the trend could put people in loneliness that could lead to depression or anxiety disorders if they stuck with their own in a long time.Taking Japan as premium example of the country that people tend to live alone, you can see Japanese not engaging with each other so much and the quantity of depression cases in Japan always remain at high level.

In sum, living alone is getting more and more common all over the world, in my opinion the phenomenon has both beneficial and detrimental effects.