Increasing the number of police officers on the street is the only effective way to reduce crime

Some people think that increasing the number of police officers on the street is the only effective way to reduce crime. Do you agree or disagree?

Whenever a vital crime occurred, people started wondering which measures the government could probably take in order to administrate the public security better again. Having more police officers on the street was frequently considered at the moment as one of choices.

A four-year-old girl was beheaded in front of her mother in Taipei street on March 28th, local media have reported. The public yielded, and screamed for reassuring personal safety. The officials quickly announced that there would be patrols twenty-four-seven, aiming to not only deter crime but raise the sense of awareness overall. Such policy had made some people feel much more comfortable after the slaughter. They believed it was the only effective way to reduce crime.

On the other hand, there had been a shortage of the police for several years. This strategy no doubt posed pressure on the police officers who had already had a variety of works to address on a daily basis. The police union had asked the public to emphasize their rights or they couldn't dominate the public security efficiently even if they had increased the number of the police officers on the street. The operation of long-term solution rather than short-sighted policy was needed.

In summary, enlarging the number of the police officers isn't the only effective way to prevent crime in my opinion. Arranging the workforce of the police, reducing the social inequality, and valid legislation may be other choices as well.