Increasing the price of fuel as the optimal solution to solve environmental problems

Some people think the best way to solve global environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel.

To what extent do you agree or disagree

Society has witnessed environmental degradation in recent years, and finding a way to protect our nature is being considered as a top priority across the globe. Among solutions put forth, it is argued that increasing the price of fuel is the optimal one. While I agree that this is a feasible measure to deal with the above-mentioned phenomenon, it should be combined with other methods to maximize the effectiveness.

It is undeniable that raising fuel cost is beneficial to the environment to a certain extent in my opinion. With higher costs charged for petrol or oil, travelling by private vehicles might be discouraged, because commuters are now thinking more about their monthly expenditure when commuting with such automobiles and motorcycles. On that account, public transports might be considered as a substitute and are more likely to be chosen. With higher capacity, if public transport are packed with passengers, the amount of vehicles exhaust fumes released to the air could be significantly reduced and the air pollution might be mitigated, as a result.

However, I believe that increasing the fuel price solely is not optimal and long lasting, unless it is taken with other measures simultaneously. Besides encouraging public transport, another measure that might also efficiently deploy the capacity of vehicles is promoting car-sharing programs, which could play a pivotal role in reducing the exhaust emissions as well. In addition, a limitation of carbon footprint per capita might be issued, so that global warming could be slowed down. Finally, the public's awareness towards environmental importance and responsibility should be raised. With a deeper understanding about our world, people's behaviors might be done with a higher respect for ecological criteria.

In conclusion, through diminishing vehicles exhaust fumes, a higher cost for fuel might obviously exert a positive impact on the global environment. Nevertheless, this solution, from my perspective, should be implemented together with other methods to elevate the effectiveness.