Ielts Task 2:Increasing the price petrol is the best ways to solve growing traffic and

Would be grateful to have this essay reviewed. Thanks.

Topic:Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed by some people that the traffic congestion and air pollution problem can be solved by increasing the price of fossil fuels for cars. I do not agree with this opinion because there are several other effective ways we can take to deal with those problems.

Advocate argued that price increases can reduce the use of private cars and relief the pollution problem for two reasons. The price-sensitive drivers tend to give up using cars as their choice of vehicle to commute or travel around. As the number of cars decreased, the traffic jam would be relived as well. Additionally, the fume comes from private cars, which using fossil-fuel as power, is the major source of air pollution in modern cities. Reduce the use of them can improve the quality of the environment.

However, I believe that there are other ways we can promote to achieve the goal mentioned above. Firstly, the government can invest more money in providing more effective traffic system by designing bus only lines and encouraging people to use public transportation by giving a discount on fees. Secondly, the innovation and invention on vehicles that powered by new energy, such as wind, sun and water energy should be promoted and encouraged. For example, authorities can issue a tax refund to those companies. Finally, society is equally responsible to launch campaigns to raise the awareness of people for protecting the environment.

In occlusion, increasing the cost of driving private cars is a possible way to reduce the using of them thus protects the environment and relief the traffic problem. But I do not agree that it is the best way to do so because we have much better ways to do so, such as promoting new energy cars and investing in better traffic systems.