TOEFL Independent writing: Advertising makes people buy things that they don't need.

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement:

Advertising makes people buy things that they don't need.

Advertisement appears everywhere in this day and age, from billboard, to flyers and to TV commercials. Also, advertising plays a significant role in corporate success. I believe that these advertisements encourage people to buy things that they don't actually need.

I hold the belief for two major reasons. First, a successful advertising is able to make products become both well-preformed and cost-effective than they really are. Customers who are not interested in the product originally are likely to be attracted by the advertisement and finally decide to by it. For instance, how many times do you believe the medicine on the advertisement is a cure-all? How many times does a hamburger on the menu increase your appetite? However, when the product comes into your hands, you realize that it is not the thing you want. The medicine is not that magical and the hamburger is unsavory. It is reasonable as proper light and beautiful decoration make the food appeals to be more delicious and some products only function well in certain case --- the case shown in the advertisement. Second, in order to earn more profits, encouraging customers to buy thing they don't need is what a company aims to do, and companies achieve the goal mainly by advertising. This point can be illustrated by the example of Bruce Barton, known as Ad Man, have successfully set up one of the major creative advertising firms operating in the United States by selling a mass of products to all kinds of customers, including the one who don't need them.

Some may argue that technology revolution has opened up the information highway to everyone. Customers can easily compare products online and make sensible decision. However, advanced technology also enables companies to send more customized advertisement that is in line with buyers' interest, which helps companies to sell more products to those who don't need them.

It is safe to conclude that advertising encourage people buy things that they don't need. Further, it is essential for us to compare different products and make a sensible choice before buying things.