TOEFL independent writing: How does the increasing availability of information influence life?

huge information data and its influence on human

The widespread use of the internet has given people access to information on a level never experienced before. How does this increase in the availability of information influence life in today's world?

It is an indisputable fact that, nowadays, Internet has a dramatic impact on human's life because of the free flow of information. This great influence can be seen in three main aspects demonstrated in the following essay.

The first facet is associated with education. The access to abundant learning resources and global information from the Internet enables children in rural areas to receive an education chance they deserve. In the past two decades, the literacy rate in China has a significant rise by over ten percent. One particularly good example is that more and more children lived in a small village in Sichuan have been literate through the Internet. This outcome should be attributed to establishing the infrastructure of Internet in remote areas.

The other aspect is conservation of paper resource. Being replaced by Internet, books are not the most important method of transmitting information, which has considerably decreased the demand of paper and greatly prevented forest from deforestation. Furthermore, it also saves a great deal of time by clicking on a button instead of searching library shelves.

Despite these advantages above, the drawback of the free flow of information is that people have difficulty to tell its reliability in this information flooding generation. For instance, it is said that the U.S. election in 2016 was manipulated by Russia through inserting fake advertisement into Facebook and hacking American's identity. It is the most serious problem I have ever seen that the untruthful information on the Internet have the power of controlling the election of a country.

In conclusion, although the flow of information has greatly benefited to human's life by increasing the literacy rate and conserving paper, it is undeniable that the social media should be properly regulated to avoid the case above happen again