TOEFL independent essay: Would you maintain your customs if moving to another country?

When people move to another country, some of them decide to follow the customs of the new country. Others prefer to keep their own customs. Compare these two choices. Which one do you prefer? Support your answer with specific details.

A common proverb in Italy says: country where you go, habits that you find. This simple sentence tell how important is the variety in customs and routines. Personally, I prefer to adapt to new customs, without forgetting the typical of my birth country. I feel this way for two reasons that I will discuss in the following essay.

First of all, you have to adapt to the overall context for a matter of socialization: people around you are used to eat at a different hour, spend their free time in other activities or going at work at a certain hour. My personal experience is a perfect example of this. I'm italian but I live in Spain and I had to get used to a different hour for have dinner, the practice of having breakfast with bread and tomato, to spend my sunday afternoon drinking something in a terrace. It's a simple question of adaptation and, right now, I don't miss my original customs.

Secondly, it's good to get used to habits of a new country for the main reason of discover diversity and what really makes a country different from the rest of the world. I believe that one of the best ways to enjoy a trip is identifying deeply with the surrounding environment, trying to do all the activities that locals retain part of their own culture. If I kept my habits, I would never discovered little pleasures of Spain, like spanish tortilla, watch flamenco's shows, being seduced by the great popular celebrations.

To summarize, there are two categories of people: who remains loyal to his own habits even if living outside, and who change everything. I'm in the second group, and living a situation so closed, I couldn't be happier.