TOEFL Independent Essay Sample ( The influence of information's availability in today's world )

Prompt: The widespread use of the internet has given people access to information on a level never experienced before. How does this increase in the availability of information influence life in today's world?

widespread information effects

Nowadays, we live in an environment where privacy is a myth. The world has experienced technology advancements never encountered in any other time throughout history. These inventions, the Internet for example, provides widespread and easy-to-access information. Thus, Does this increase in the availability of information influence life in today's world?

As intriguing and admirably inventive as the easy access to information seems, the Internet, treated as an unusual phenomenon, might showcase some incontrovertibly dangerous effects on life nowadays.

Privacy has been brutally invaded. Private life events, achievements, relationships and even work status has become available to all. Hence, anyone has the ability to figure out anyone's responsibilities and engagements and even manipulate them through the little details overtly unfolded to the world.

Aside from privacy invasion, the information we often have a contact with can represent a bad influence on our lives as it detects our interests and analyze our occupations to create a profile of all the attachments we have. Therefore, our choices can be manipulated and our personalities can be altered, usually negatively to make us greedier or much more tense and uncaring in our day-to-day lives.

To conclude, the free and enormously widespread information has substantial benefits for researches and human communication. Yet, we must avoid the causes of harm it creates.