Task 2 - Some individuals believe that studying at university or college is the best route

pros and cons of study

"Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best route to the successful career, while others believe that it is better to get a job straight after school. Discuss both views."

After graduated high school, many people attends universities or colleges for higher education diploma, while some get a job right away. There are benefits and drawbacks in both routes.

When attend classes in universities, firstly, you get to learn theories or skills and gain knowledge of how to be successful in the field that you choose. Secondly, you can make more connections with people that go to the same school with you. Thirdly, in today's market, many companies want to employ people based on their academic background and their resume. In some universities, they offer internships for their students, which can also elevate their students' resumes. In contrast, you have to invest in thousands of dollars for two to four years of education.

On the other hand, the advantage of having a job straight after secondary school is that you can experience more while working in the career that you chose, and earn some money, which you can save up and buy a house earlier than people that go off to college, not only that, you can also start a new family and settle down earlier. However, you may have to experience failures from the mistakes that you can avoid through classes in universities. Also, people that go to work right after high school can also be limited with choices of career, because of the academic qualifications that many companies have and their inexperience.

In conclusion, there are pros and cons in both decisions that people could make after high school.