Individuals can do nothing to change society

Individuals can do nothing to change society. Any new developments can only be brought about by governments and large institutions. How far do you agree or disagree?

In the past history, a large number of changes and developments were brought about by big organizations, governments, and institutions. These actions led many people to believe that individuals are incapable of becoming agent of change among society . I believe that both individuals and governments have their own function to bring influences or changes to society.

First, looking back to history were almost most important matters solved by the organizations, governments, and institutions. In my opinion, it is understandable and natural due to they have great power to make policy or decision. For instance, when Indonesia was under the leadership of former President Soeharto, there was a large number of changes and developments especially economic development. He divided this economic development into three periods: economic recovery, rapid economic growth and increasing government intervention, export-led growth, and deregulation. Indeed, the economy grew rapidly and brought some improvements in its social development. Unfortunately, due to his dictatorial and authoritarian power, there were many people have become powerless, frustrated, and less respect to the government.

On the other hand, a revolution started by minor or poor people who were recognized to be powerless. For instance, many student activists among universities in Indonesia united to protect and ask for Soeharto resignation. The latest example is story about a young schoolgirl from Pakistan who stood up to the Taliban, Malala Yousafzai. She was shot in the head by Taliban due to her struggle against them to defend her right to an education.

In conclusion, I do not think that individuals are incapable of bringing influences and create changes among society. I personally believe that individuals, like governments and organizations, are also part of society. Therefore, both individuals and governments or organizations can do something to change society in their own role.