IELTS Writing Task 2 Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment

Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The responsibility of environment

Today it is clear that the health of our planet is in a dire situation. Some people believe that they personally can not change this fact and only corporations and governments are able to improve the environment. This essay will discuss in depth why I completely disagree with this notion.

The idea that individuals are helpless is blatantly wrong and extremely lazy. People in general are the reason of the deterioration of the environment. Therefore, if they are capabe to worsen the situation, they are surely in power to make the opposite effect. A person can toss a plastic botlle on a lawn, for example, but the same person is also capable of collecting trash from the same lawn to a trash bin. Moreover, there is a plethora of things that people can do ranging from collecting rubbish and sorting it to prodicing less of waste and wisely and economically using the utilities. These measures have long been stated by environmentalists as the most effective.

Governments and corporations can undoubtedly make a difference and individuals can and should force them to take the action. Provided that large companies are working for profit, they are not particularly interested in the environmental issues. However, their business is sensitive to the public opinion and if there is enough effort from their customers they will have no choice but to contribute. The same can be said about governments. These institutions are there to serve people, and are chosen by people. So it is their job to listen to their nations desires and problems and react accordingly. On the other hand it is the duty of an individual to reach to a politician, for instance, by means of protests, demonstrations or petitions that demand environmental legislation.

This essay discussed the reasons why the idea that individuals can not change the environmental crisis is inaccurate. Therefore, I strongly disagree that not individuals but politicians and large businesses are the only ones that can reduce pollution.