IELTS Task 2 : The influence of advanced technology in people's lives

There have been major advances in technology over recent decades and this has led to significant improvements in people's lives. To what extent do you agree and disagree?

The newly-invented technology changes people's lives. It is true that the invention of technology improves quality of life for people in today era. While the improvement results in great convenience, I believe that there are some drawbacks of technological development.

Supporters to this statement argue that the major advanced technology provides a positive influence because everyone has easy access to acquire in-depth information. Take the internet as an example, over following 30 years, the development of technology has been spreading in the world, and it has been automation for some process. Long time ago, people went shopping in the conventional store, but these days, some shoppers change their behaviour to buy some basic survival needs in the online shop, surfing in amazon.com or texco.co.uk.

Furthermore, FBI in the United States sets CCTV cameras which are connected to Tripwire, a U.S. system designed to catch terrorists. However, a study shows that video surveillance in Britain has feared the UK, in terms of "sleep-walk into a surveillance society". Having said and that, the implementation of surveillance cameras in public areas can solve some illegal actions as an authentic evidence to impose criminals in the prison sentence. All in all, it is understandable that the latest technology offers many substantial benefits in human lives.

On the other hand, there are some drawbacks of multitasking technology. Firstly, children are easily to go on some dangerous sites in the internet. So, the rate of cohabitation cases experiences a significant increase in the modern era. Moreover, the morality is abandoned due to a sense of sexuality. In addition, some household technologies, washing machine and vacuum cleaner, help people to do chores activities so people do not have enough physical movement and become illness. Lastly, the advances technologies, smart phone and tablet, channels many netizens into an isolated life. As a result, they cannot maintain effective communication with their colleagues in the real life.

In conclusion, technology gives positive influence for some people to accomplish some activities. However, negative effects also engage with the development of technology. I believe the ethic of internet usage should concern to prevent from a cyber crime and children should be under parental surveillance as long as they use the internet.