Essay about the influence of international sports events on a country

Topic:

Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad.

Discuss both views and state your opinion

In this day and age, there are conflicting views about the impacts of organizing global sporting competitions on a country. While some people believe that such events are detrimental to the host nation, I would argue that there are a number of merits that can be gained from those events.

On the one hand, major international sports events present challenges that the host country has to counter. Specifically, if the government of the host nation tends to embark on an infrastructure splurge, then it must curb public spending on hospitals, schools, and a welfare state to help the poor. To exemplify, spending a huge sum of money on constructing stadiums for the 2014 World Cup, Brazil now suffers from a deficiency of money to deal with the coronavirus pandemic. In terms of the environment, there will be a huge amount of waste discarded from stadiums and arenas built, which has adverse influences on the surroundings and the residents.

On the other hand, I am of the opinion that international sporting games are advantageous for the country. Particularly, such events might promote the economic prosperity of the country as the tourism sector can be potentially stimulated by attracting the influx of sports fans from all over the world. In other words, this is an opportunity to derive profit for hotels, restaurants, and businesses involved in sports merchandising. Moreover, it is a great chance for the host nation to gain global exposure and broadcast the culture of the country. For instance, since Sea Games 2003, Vietnam has been branded as a historic country with a diverse culture that broadens the impact of the nation on the global stage.

In conclusion, although sports events come at the expense of a few immediate problems, the benefits of economic and cultural promotion are of utmost significance.