IELTS Essay: Influence of parents to boys and girls

Boys are most influenced by their fathers and girls are most influenced by their mothers. Do you agree or disagree? Use specific reasons to support your opinion.

Both Parents Affect Children equally?

People often contend that boys are under the greatest influence of their father while the mother has the most significant impacts on their girls. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this idea.

Right after being aware of their gender, children were attracted by parental actions, in which the same-sex influence was of the much more popularity. Day by day, they noticed the way their parents communicate to each other, react to life situations, handle with their work, play with them, and they mimic everything from their parents to gradually form their personality.

Most boys think that they were born to be brave, strong, powerful, who do the big things and will become breadwinners like their father. They idolize their father and see them as the strongest model, especially during their childhood. Trying to imitate their father's actions give them the feeling of becoming a real man. Boys are the most loyal followers of their father in both playing sport and cheering sports matches.They show their interest in sports since the early ages and consider physical activities needing much strength not a topic for girls. Another example that worth discussing relates to colors. By looking at their parent's daily clothes, they can jump to the conclusion about the color distinction between girls and boys that the colors used by their father are also for men and colors like pink, red will be definitely out of their color board.

By contrast, maternal influence is shown the most clearly in the girls' personality. Little girls admire their mother not only by their sacrifice, diligence, tolerance, and faithfulness but also by their wealth of knowledge. From the girls' eyes, the greatest teacher, the best chef, the most interesting storyteller, the smartest financial manager and the most reliable friend is the same person- their mother. The significant mother-daughter relationship affects the behavior as well as emulation of girls. If the mother is a modest woman, so is her girl; if the mother is a successful, but arrogant businesswoman, their girl may be hardly friendly and sociable.

To conclude, although gen decides mostly the difference between the two sexes as well as the similarity in terms of personality between the same-sex members in a family, children are still affected by both their parents and use parents as a place of emotional repairs. This influence does not extend across gender limits.