IELTS - Influence of parents is fading; 'unable to render enough time'

Do you agree with the following statement? Classmates are more important influence than parents on child's future..?

It may indeed be true to say that childrens, nowadays, are influenced to a greater extent by their schoolmates rather than by parents.I believe classmates have an Immense impact on child tomorrow as compared to their parents which can be a result of the sense of competition at school and parents have little time for their children.

Generally, It is felt by many that classmates are the major influence on children's overall development and consequently their future as they spend most of their time with them at school.The teenagers period is such a malleable stage in children's life that they can be easily moulded , and as many believe, their tomorrow really depends on what they do today.In addition,a children mostly imitate what their friends do, and if they have good friend circle, it can actually be a gift for that child.These teenagers can actually learn a lot of skills from their friends at school.For example, If a child has a friend who is inclined towards sports, that child can actually develop interest in sports because of competitive feeling that grows with his friend and become world renowned sportsman someday.Bad influence of friends can, on the other hand, totally destroy a child's future. By this I mean if a child get involved in drugs because of the companion they have.Hence,it can be said school friends have a major affect on child's future.At the same time, lack of quality time from parents towards children is promoting this phenomenon, which is actually making school going kids more dependent on their friends for guidance and other needs.

In addition, many argue that because of the busy schedule parents have, they are unable to render enough time to their children.Sometimes, the only time they meet, is at the dinner table.This not only creates a distance between them, but also compels them to become totally dependent on their friends for physical or emotional support, which is finally responsible for shaping their future.Therefore, most of the time, especially in the developed world, classmates can have a huge influence in a child's life.

In conclusion, although parents are considered to be the first teacher of a children, nowadays this trend is seen somewhat fading.I agree childrens are being influenced a lot by peers rather than by parents and their future is a result of this influenced to a large degree.