IELTS Writing Task 2- Influence of television and computer games on children.

Topic: Some people believe that time spent on television video and computer games can be beneficial to children. Others believe this has negative effects on a child. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

TV shows and video games - any benefits for kids?

Watching TV and playing video games are two of most important children's leisure activities since the turn of new millennium. However, there has been an intense debate regarding whether they are beneficial or harmful for children. From my personal perspective, they would bring more negative impact on kids than positive one.

Admittedly, TV shows and video games are of great educational and entertaining benefits. In fact, there is a large number of educational and inspirational TV programs which enable children to have fun in the learning process and facilitate their intellectual development. "Ten thousand questions", for example, is one of such programs providing knowledge involving not only natural science but also social life, thereby helping foster the young the morally values and outlook the world and life. Additionally, recreation is for sure a crucial function of television and computer. They are enjoyable for children of all age as they are the great way to relieve stresses after long-hour studying at school.

However, the negative consequences relating to physical and mental health caused by these technologies should not be overlooked. One of the downsides is that spending too much time on watching TV and using computer may give rise to sedentary lifestyles. Kids being couch potato would be isolated from the real world. This is because they do not have enough time to socialize and to engage with outdoor activities which are essential for their physical growth. Also, their eyesight might be weekened by staring at the screen so long. More over, arguable contents on TV will lead to unanticipated implication on children's later life. Children trait is curiousity, hence they would be impressionable and imitate violent actions and sexual scenes in movies and video games. This would obviously exert detrimental influence on kids development.

In conclusion, although the widespread technologies benefits children in learning and entertaining, the undesirable effects on children's health and development should also be taken into consideration. Parents should take time to guide and supervise these important activities.