( IELTS essay) Who is more influential in children: Parents or Classmates

Do you agree with the following statement? Classmates are more important influence than parents on child's future..?

In this ever-changing fast world, children get effected by both classmates and their parents. It is a debatable topic, whether classmates or parents are more powerful in childrens' lives. However, I feel, they are more influenced by their classmates.

To begin with, nowadays, parents are not spending enough time with their children because of their busy life schedule. Young children are spending quantity time with their friends than parents, and are more involved with them, so the influence of friends on them are very strong. Students usually spend their time in school, part-time jobs, studies, plays and just having fun with friends. These activities take more time to interact more with their friends. For instance, when I was in the school I used to share my ideas and experiences with my classmates, who are in the same age with different experiences.

Secondly, young adults are in a transient stage of personality. In that age, they are trying to imitate others. They want to catch the eye of others and blindly follow whoever succeeded and got attraction from others. Parents restrict them from some activities for their bright future or to avoid facing dangers in life while, classmates support them in all. Besides, they try to live independently and these young adults neglect parents' opinions and accept the opinion of their friends. Moreover, children are choosing their own friends but cannot select their parents, and forced to accept them.

In conclusion, children are spending quantity time with their friends and feel that, classmates are more attached to them. As a result, I believe, children get affected from their friends more than their parents get.