Information is not always free - what's your opinion about it?

charging for an information

I am preparing for the IELTS test. I really hope to receive your comments and feedback about my writing and score it if possible. Thank you!

Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Information is essential for people to do scientific research, run a business and study. However, information is not always free to acquire and some people argue about whether we should pay for gaining information. In my opinion, information should sometimes charge for some reasons.

Many people work hard to write articles and produce data so it is reasonable to charge some fees instead of sharing all of the information freely. Charging some fees from the people who need the information could encourage business or experts to innovate new products or produce more data because they can make a fortune by doing so. For example, scientist who invent new things would register a patent in order to protect his invention from being stolen. If anyone wants to use the invention, he has to communicate with the inventor and pay for the invention. This gives incentive for people to dedicate themselves in producing.

On the other hand, some people think that it is better to share information with others freely. This argument also makes a sense since knowledge can be widely spread if there is no restriction to access. Therefore, the poor who are not affordable to pay for the information have opportunities to gain more knowledge and improve themselves. This might narrow the gap between the rich and the poor because the poor can be educated through getting the information. However, people who produce the information may lose incentive to produce because their precious works are share freely. Hence, the number of information may decrease.

In conclusion, both of these views have advantages and disadvantage but we should not take free information for granted or we will have less chance to see outstanding information.