Information: sharing information freely for scientific research

Task 2: some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely.

Discuss both these view and give your own opinion.

Oversharing of information has raised huge controversies amongst the general public. Some believe this practice will be beneficial for academic purposes while others believe that information should not be shared freely. Personally, I agree that information sharing should cost a fee.

On the one hand, free information access is undoubtedly helpful for scientificđ research. This will provide scientists and researchers a wide range of information and statistics to apply to their studies. As a result, a variety of information would lead to an exact study result, which helps in innovating and ameliorating our quality of life. For instance, in research about job satisfaction, if participants are honest about their experience and feelings, the study result could help the leaders improve working conditions or adjust remuneration, therefore employees satisfaction would be enhanced.

On the other hand, some information is too valuable to be shared without any cost, even for academic studies. One possible reason is that some information will be detrimental for the business or individual if being shared freely. For example, in some surveys, the business leaders are required to expose their methods of management and regulation. Publicising this information will help their rivals learn about their policies and imitate them, thus creating certain negative effects on the participants' company. This type of information plays a key role in the business operation, therefore it should cost a fee to assure that researchers will keep it secure for the survey participants. The more valuable the information is, the more expensive it should cost for academic researchers to access.

In conclusion, although a variety of accessible information will be significantly helpful for academic studies, I strongly believe that some information is too risky to be shared freely. Therefore scientists should pay to access this information as well as assure its security.