The intellectual benefits of attending a university - advice my second GRE issue

Thanks for Simone's advice last time, it's really helpful. I'm careful with prepositions this time, though it's still hard for me not to make mistakes.

Here is my another Issue writing.

Please make suggestions on its grammer, structure, content or anything else.

Thanks in advance.

Issue 39

"The intellectual benefits of attending a university or college are vastly overrated: most people could learn more by studying and reading on their own for four years than by pursuing a university or college degree."

"Learn more" does not simply means having read more books or known more facts, as far as I see, it indicates getting both depth and breadth of knowledge on a specific range of subjects, having mastered a systematic approach to solving unprecedented problems and it also suggests maintaining a rational mind with well-organized knowledge structured by a theoretical frame. From that perspective, a self-educated one can hardly learn more, in this technological advanced society, than those who received a formal education. In fact, each branch of learning has become so complex, especially for science, that the absorption of knowledge is much more difficult without guidance.

The very first obstacle a self-learner has to face is oneself. Even the most diligent student will skim through what does not interest him, and, more or less, neglect what he finds tedious. Thus, he may have a extremely deep knowledge in his interested field but a poor cognition in other fields. I have used "he" here only for brevity, for girls, it is equally the same or perhaps even worse. Since many girls dislike math, they are likely to get rid of math forever when it comes to teach themselves. Consider Faraday as a good example to illustrate what one's disregard of math will lead to. (I'm not sure whether the structure is right here) Faraday never received a formal education, but his instincts led him to many greatest discoveries in physics and chemistry, and he was regarded as one of the best experimentalists. In his late years, he got some initial ideas about the relationship between magnetism and electricity, and even formed a intricate picture of force filed, but as he could not handle mathematics, it was impossible for him to impart his surrealistic picture to other colleagues, nor could he go further enough. Such a genius, like Faraday, could be trapped by a lack of systematic knowledge, which schools are specialized in transferring, how can we suppose to make a difference without a formal education? Faraday was lucky, before long, Maxwell, who was well educated and had a wide knowledge in both mathematics and physics, climbed into his head and transformed his second sight into elegant equations, hence laid the theoretical foundations of electromagnetism. We must know that it is only through Maxwell can the rest of us understand the obscure graph formed in Faraday's mind. Further more, if Faraday were born today, he would not find himself lucky any more, as the volume of knowledge has soared unbelievably since then.

Besides, university or college does not only provide us with a systematically designed curriculum for students to follow, it also offers an atmosphere for studying. How can one study alone for 4 years? Without college pressure, one is more delighted to be entertained than to be educated. In school, there is a competition with peers, which is an incentive to anyone to not being lazy. Also, there is a cooperation, which helps one to learn more efficiently. As a university student, I find myself benefited much from classmates and teachers. They showed me different ways of thinking and helped me solved problems that haunted me. One can easily get stuck without help from others.

Moreover, any university student is required to study and read on his own. That is an important part of higher education. Even for those geniuses who prefer to study on their own, the libraries in universities or colleges can help them learn better. More importantly, professors' advice on what to read can direct them to a much more planar way to success, rather than being lost and wandering in tremendous books and information available today.

Though still not vanished, nowadays, the self-educated genius is becoming rarer and rarer. For the most of us, we learn much more by attending university, where we become well-educated persons equipped with systematic knowledge.