'intellectual sources'; Colleges should better prepare students for the future.

Agree or disagree.

Colleges or universities should offer more courses to prepare students for the future before they start working.

Undoubtedly, nowadays colleges or universities are the largest intellectual sources for the society. A large number of students become outstanding elites such as scientists, politicians and economists after they graduate. In brief, in order to make students better prepared for their future occupations, I think colleges and universities should provide them with more courses before they start working. The reasons are addressed below.

In the first place, universities should offer a wide range of specialized courses in each major, so one could find what his/her true love, the specific field he/she wants to delve into, is. For instance, I am an English major student who have already studied nearly 40 specialized courses including Linguistics, Translation, English Literature, to name but a few. After studying these courses broadly, I find that I am especially fond of English Literature in that I really enjoy reading masterpieces of authors all over the world and their excellent ideas enrich my thoughts. Therefore, I determined to study this field in my graduate program. Without such various specialized courses, I may end up either having no idea about what I really like or learning something that I actually have no interest in.

Secondly, universities should not only offer academic courses but also courses in job-hunting areas such as career directions. Harboring only academic knowledge is not sufficient for an undergraduate to get a decent work in today's job market which is full of fierce competitions. If a student has learnt career planning courses in college, he will gain a more specific goal and figure out what his expectancy should be. A survey conducted by the Local Education Department of Beijing in 2008 suggests that students graduated from schools that offered career directions exhibited much confidence and clearer objectives than their counterparts when facing an interviewer.

Finally, it is generally accepted that cultivating all-around students is the ultimate goal of each and every university, so practical skills like social skills cannot be ignored. Through taking courses in these aspects, students' communicative abilities can be improved so that they can adjust themselves to their future working atmosphere quickly. For instance, they will learn how to behave in different types of corporations, how to get along with their co-workers in the offices, how to deal with a furious boss and so forth. Virtually, most universities in China hold Alumni Meeting once a month in campus, so students are blessed with chances to seek advice from the eminent alumni and meet youngsters with whom they share the same ambition.

In light of what I have discussed above, universities should offer more courses including specialized courses, career directions and social skills to make students better prepared and qualified for their future professions to the maximum extent.