TOEFL _ intelligence as the most important characteristic of a student

Intelligence is one of the most important factors for students to be successful, but as I am concerned, it is not the most dominant characteristic assured profound learning and academic achievement. From my vantage point, diligence is as important as smartness. Actually, in many cases working hard can be even more beneficial than any other attitudes; because diligent students can overwhelm many problems of theirs and also they won't be despair and pursue their goals determinedly.

Firstly, I think diligent pupils can always find a way to overcome the problems even if they are not genius. On the other hand, they can solve complicated things thanks to their ability to work hard. Indeed, they can compensate their weaknesses by repetition and persistence. According to an article in the last issue of Education Journal, almost 80 percent of the best students are not among genius ones. They are just determined individuals who try to be the best and do it through working hard.

Secondly, in my opinion, diligence results in making student more optimistic and powerful. Trying students usually are self confident ones who can rely on themselves and never give up. This unique characteristic makes them potent to follow their objects and to reach the highest rate. Being hopeful is the brilliant outcome of this characteristic which has effective role to be prosperous. Indeed, success of most of the famous inventors along the history has been because of their hard trying to achieve their goals. Because of this attitude they never have been disappointed and they have gone on to obtain their goals. Hence, many of the popular scientists have not been among of very smart persons; they have been capable to work hard.

To wrap up, although intelligence can be a considerable factor for being a successful student, it is not the unique secret to triumph. Trying hard is a prominent virtue which makes pupils potent to reach their purpose, as well.