Intentional tourism can promotes people to understand and respect other cultures

Nowadays, international tourism is the biggest industry in the world. Unfortunately, international tourism creates tension rather than understanding between people from different cultures. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, people would like to travel to other countries for medication, education, entertainment or participating in work related matters etc. So the international tourism becomes the biggest industry in the world. I do not agree that international tourism creates problems between cultures. In fact it promotes people to understand and respect other cultures.

On one hand, local people may easily misunderstand others from foreign countries. For example, cheek kissing is the most common greetings in Europe. But in China, it is a gesture using between for lovers. If people are unaware of certain culture differences, it may make others feel uncomfortable or misunderstand the intention behind it. However, people can learn to understand the other cultures from books and internet. Firstly, people can find books about the cultures all over the world, like the travelling stories and guide books, thus they can learn more about foreign cultures by just staying at home. Secondly, with the internet, people can find the information more efficiently throughout the powerful searching engines.

On the other hand, tourism promotes people to understand and respect other cultures. Tourists spend money, thus it creates employment in services like commendations, transport and entertainment and helps to improve the standard of living. Foods from other places of the world have been imported and the different kinds of restaurants have been built in big cities. Moreover, tourism can bring more cultural exchange and deepen their insight into another culture. For example, people in China also celebrate the Christmas like the west countries in recent years.

In conclusion, it is true that different culture may cause some misunderstanding between peoples, but I believe that the intentional tourism can promotes people to understand and respect other cultures, thus culture assimilation would become the trend in the world.