Is international sports event suitable for a country or not? Discuss both views

(IELTS WRITING TASK 2)

Some people think that an international sports event is suitable for a country, while some people think it is bad.

Discuss both views and state your opinion.

My essay:

Numerous citizens believe that conducting international sporting events can bring many benefits to their own nation, whereas others think the opposite way. In my opinion, it is reasonable for those who side with the latter idea, but I totally agree with the former one because there are advantages for aspects including tourism, people in the local area could be earned from the event.

On the one hand, an international event needs a huge amount of money to organize. It means that the government has to rely on resources such as the national budget which is mostly collected through taxes. As a result, many people might think it would be more efficient to focus on education as well as the public transport or sewage system. For example, the Sea games, which were hosted by VietNam the last year, cost over 500 billion VND, while in every rainy season, lots of cities in VietNam are flooded. Furthermore, many indoor sporting areas built for the event might be left unused because the next Sea games will be hosted by another country.

On the other hand, on a global stage, an international event is a great opportunity for a nation to promote its culture, tourism, and so on. This is due to the fact that athletes and interviewers from various countries will be invited and join the event. From this, they will advertise and introduce what they are interested in. Besides, businesses of local citizens living around areas for the event could also boost their revenue as there are more tourists or travelers who want to behold how athletes compete in the stadium.

In conclusion, international sports events could consume a lot of money, however, it could be compensated by other values such as national finance and the image of the country.