(IELTS essay) International tourism creates tensions in the host country

Nowadays, international tourism is the biggest industry in the world. Unfortunately, international tourism creates tensions rather than understanding between people from different cultures. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As a result of advancement in technology and globalization, the number of people moving between countries are surging now. It leads to a hot debate, weather it beneficial or create tensions in the host country. In my perception, it may leads to tensions if not handled well.

Tourism is the movement of people from one part to another and businesses related to it. International tourism brings enormous benefits to the host country. It opens the door of employment opportunities in service industries like, hotel, transportation and so on. It broadens our mind and helps to understand diverse culture. It enables foreign currency inflow and economic developments.

Apparently, a foreign tourist bring some problems with them that can leads to stress and dislike for local people. Undoubtedly, a foreigner is vulnerable and often ripped off by locals. Another point is that, the language barrier can lead to misunderstandings. Tourist sometimes refused to buy things from local market. Their bargaining may results in dispute between them, which ends up in dislikes. Furthermore, spending a short period in another country or with foreign tourists is not enough to understand fully about an alien culture

Most importantly, countries and societies have specific beliefs, traditions and culture. Foreign visitors may mistakenly act contrary to local norms, or they just plain offensive. For instance, special dress code and mannerism are there to enter inside the traditional temple in India. If a foreigner refused to follow this, it may consider as disrespect to the local culture. Therefore, some people think tourist insults local beliefs. Additionally, the wealth of the foreigners can cause envy and resentment. Besides, youngsters may be easily influenced by the bad social practices like alcoholism, of the foreigner.

In conclusion, global tourism is favorable to host country in various ways. At the same time, it can generate a large number of issues. If not handled well, it may pave way to tensions in the host country.