IELTS Task 2 - Will the Internet make schools unnecessary in the future?

Topic 97: In modern society, some people argue that schools become unnecessary as children can study at home via the Internet. Do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, based on the current impressive pace of technological development, people are projecting a near future where computers may supersede the role of teachers in classrooms. However, as traditional schooling brings irreplaceable benefits for children, it is believed that such prediction can hardly turn into a reality.

There is no point arguing whether computers are extremely beneficial for educational purposes, especially in distance learning. With a stable connection to the Internet, a student can still acquire knowledge, search for relevant information and communicate with his or her teachers and classmates over a longer distance. This technology has allowed people to be more flexible in choosing the time and location that they want to study.

Nevertheless, traditional form of education, which centers around a teacher, provides students with human interactions - a element that is tremendously important for the development of children. By taking face-to-face with teachers and their peers in a classroom, students can learn to converse and discuss ideas effectively. These skills are transferable across their future careers and occupations. Furthermore, teaching in a conventional classroom permits teachers to observe and monitor their students better. This is very important as it helps teachers to identify any student who may need extra help and attention to keep up with their classmates. On the contrary, studying over the Internet makes this task nearly unattainable.

In the light of the aforementioned facts, it can be concluded that although distance learning provide some benefits for students, such as flexibility, the role of traditional schools will not be replaced in the near future. This is because conventional means of teaching comes with many perks, namely better communication skills and more attention for students.