IELTS WRITING TASK 2: The internet or newspaper?

With the rise in popularity of the Internet, newspapers will soon become a thing of the past.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, Internet is no stranger to people and it is obviously more and more common. Therefore, newspapers is predicted to disappear in the future. This essay believes that outlook is undeniable.

Firstly, the speed of updating of the Internet is superior to traditional newspapers. Latest news always appear in a fastest way. People can even watch full events, accidents, and so on at the same time they occur in real life just through the screens. However, newspapers need much time to be edited, sent to each household. This prevent people from accessing to news quickly.

When it comes to the costs, the Internet continues to win newspapers. It almost free for those who have used Internet services. In contrast, to get a piece of newspapers, not only do people have to pay for the newspapers itself but they are also forced to pay its tax, its cost of shipping... Everyone is certain to be interested in free items.

Turning to the format, online news is highly appreciated with attractive ways of presenting, a wide variety of of topics such as: politics, economy, technology,... while many traditional newspapers use a tedious format (black and white) with limited topics.

Another plus for e-news is that it offers the readers the freedom of expressing their own opinion with the others about the news. As it can be seen, there is an area below the news on the Internet. It allows the readers commenting after reading an article. For instance, many helpful suggestions have been given below environmental texts. This helps environmentalist tackle a plethora of issues.

In conclusion, with abovementioned reasons, newspapers will be soon be defeated by the Internet.