(IELTS essay) Internet reduces face-to-face contacts

Some people believe that the internet is a wonderful tool for making new friends and maintaining existing friendships. others, however, think that socializing online remove the face to face contact which is vital to human relationships. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Internet is one of the miracles of technology. It plays an indispensable part in maintaining and making friendships and socializing. However, I will argue that we should limit its use of this virtual world, because of some significant reasons.

Undeniably, through internet we can strength over friendships. We can keep in contact with any body anywhere at any time, since it is geographically independent. The social networking sites like, facebook twitter and so on provides an insurmountable space for those who want to involve in friendships. The feature of uploading and sharing videos not only provides information, but also entertainment. Chat rooms enable as to send and receive messages instantly. The cheap cost of international calls allows us to enjoy conversations, which boosts the friendships. It is an awesome tool in finding new friends too.

Undoubtedly, internet brought the end of time and space. Along with all this merits, it has some down sides too. People those who are using too much internet for friendships may miss their opportunity to mingle with friends in the real word. Face to face interaction is an unavoidable part in everybody's day to day life. One should keep some manners and mannerisms in this way of communication. People living in the cyber world are lacking this and it may leads to problems with their friends in the real world, leaving them isolated. Dangerously, people hiding their original personalities and making friendship with others with a duplicate identity, which one desired, but failed to achieve. In other words, lots of people creating their duplicate profiles in the cyber space with exactly different information about what they are and making friends. Tender minds become pry in this play and some even spoils all their treasure and trust in others.

In conclusion, internet became an unavoidable part in our daily lives. Hence, too much of anything is good for nothing; one should control the unlimited use of cyber space. Because, human is a social animal, it is better to try to live as a part of society.