TOEFL: invest in infrastructure and physical plant V.S. invest in keeping the faculty satisfied

It is more important for universities to invest in infrastructure and physical plant than to invest in keeping the faculty satisfied.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

invest more on faulty

It is no doubt that two of most important elements of a successful university are good infrastructure and good faculty. It is always a problem how to make to the best use of school budget. Some people think universities should focus on physical facility because it allows students to learn more efficiently. However, I consider it is more important to keep faculty happy than to upgrade infrastructure and physical plants.

While advanced and high-tech facilities make students easy to learn, human capital plays vital role of students' learning. Image even though a school has the latest computers, it is just a waste of money if no one knows how to use them. Contrastingly, well-trained faulty can teach students well without having the best facility. Moreover, I think it is meaningless for a university to build a lot of new buildings. The reason is that students are able to keep using the same building for a long time. Many buildings at well-known universities have been using over one hundred years.

In addition, it is important to keep good professors at universities. In my point of view, professors are the greatest asset of a university instead of facility. Most students are not attracted by wonderful facility but by famous professors. In Taiwan, universities often pay famous professors a big amount of money to keep them at school, and high school students choose their top university based on teachers. Therefore, universities are better to invest more on faculty.

Last but not least, keeping faculty satisfied makes them enthusiastic and motivated on teaching. Except for decent salary, universities can do a lot for letting their faulty happy, like renting them cheap apartments. By doing so, teachers are able to push more effort of teaching without worrying other annoying stuffs. Eventually, it enables students to receive high quality of education.

In short, universities are supposed to invest more on faulty because good faulty is able to offer more profits and advantages to universities.