Essay about investment on art and culture - IELTS task 2

Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead.

To what extent do you agree with this statement?

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

In this era we live nowadays, there are several duties the governments should have. One of these duties is taking care of culture of the country, which is really a serious matter. However, some people believe that the governments should reduce the amount of money spent on cultural and artistic activities, including music, theaters, opera houses and so on.

People who claim that we shouldn't spend these huge amounts of money on arts, believe that there are more important issues to take care of. For instance, they say that we should care more for improving health services by building new hospitals and raising the efficiency of the existing ones. Also, improving the means of transportations considered as one of the critical things, that the governments should invest more money in. they have to build more roads and more railways. Also, improve the roads to decrease the number of car accidents. Make the public transportations more efficient, to reduce the dependence on the cars as the main mean of transport. These were examples of services that people want more improvements in .

nobody can say that those people are not right, but not thoroughly right . despite the importance of these services that make our life much more easier and comfortable, the arts and cultures are important as well. Life can't continue without it. Art add a meaning to our lives and help us to overcome our problems and the everyday routines, which somehow kills our souls. Also, it's one of the main means of building an identity for any country. We can see nowadays, how big countries that have no history, invest a lot of money on movies and music, just to be proud of it. Therefore, arts cannot be neglected by any mean.

in conclusion, we can't live in this life without art. Art is the nutrition for the soul, as food is for the body. To have a better life, we have to invest in the both aspects