IELTS WRITING TASK 2: ARE INVESTMENTS ON WILD ANIMALS PROTECTION WORTHY?

Task 2:

Some people think that a huge amount of time and money is spent on the protection of wild animals, and that this money could be better spent on the human population.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Some people argue that time and money investments on wild animals are too large and these investments should be spent on humans. I completely disagree with this point of view.

Firstly, in my opinion it is absurd to argue the investment on wild animal protection is redundant. It is true that in recent years, we have been organized numerous campaigns to raise people 'awareness about the importance of wild animal protection and erected parks and animal conservation sites to protect animals, which can cost a fortune. However, it appears that there are several other areas which are burning money of human such as nuclear energy and space exploration. Take space exploration as an example, the budget of a rocket production is far higher than that of a zoo. Similarly, the training fee for a zoo keeper is nowhere near as expensive as that of an astronaut. Hence, the financial investment on wild animal protection is nothing comparing with that of other fields.

Secondly, wild animals play a crucial role in humans' lives. Protecting animals means protecting their habitats which are instrumental in balancing the ecosystem. If wild animals die out, the ecosystem is destroyed. As a result, humans are likely to face with extreme weather such as climate changes and other disasters. Besides, wild animals is a rich source of science research. Scientists usually do some observe and analyze the manners and behaviors of those species and their exploration after that can broaden the knowledge of human about nature even some of them are considered as foundation for human research.

In conclusion, in my opinion the investment we spent on animals is money-worthy and wild animals protection is always a matter of importance.