GRE - ISSUE ESSAY; Do we need ceremonies & rituals to define ourselves?

IF RITUALS DID NOT EXIST,WE WOULD HAVE TO INVENT THEM.WE NEED CEREMONIES & RITUALS TO HELP US DEFINE OURSELVES SOCIALLY & CULTURALLY.

Rituals & ceremonies play a great role in every culture. They are the ingredients of their culture & heritage. For every ceremony or rituals there is a specific & logical reason.Yes we need rituals & ceremonies to help us to define ourselves socially & culturally.

For example, in India dasara is celebrated with a lot of joy &happiness. It is celebrated so as to celebrate victory of good over evil. On the same day the ravana was killed. This is part of our culture.By celebrating it we are defining it socially & culturally. By this people are knowing the reason

To give more light on this point consider the example of Ganesh Chaturthi. The reason why Lokmanya Tilak started this is to gather more & more people together. Different people try to understand their problems, to create the unity in between the Indian society.ie to achieve unity in diversity.The result is that these ceremonies helped a lot for achieving the freedom of india.

As everybody knows india is a country with diversity with respect to language,food,cloths etc.Each state is having their own way of celebrating. They have different culture. Thus to define themselves ceremonies & rituals are the best option. This will not only define themselves socially & culturally but also create unity in diversity.

To conclude,If this rituals did not exixt,we would have invented them . And Rituals & ceremonies are defining ourselves socially & culturally.