GRE issue essay: Should the foundation of education be based on morality or logical reasoning?

PROMPT: Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented above.

We need to apply both logical reasoning and morality in education but we should base education more on the foundation of logical reasoning because morality can be supported through critical thinking and evidence. Throughout history, we have demonstrated the importance of how logical thinking can produce a moral society through our court system to decide on issues, higher thinking to advance human life and technology.

In the national court system, everyone in a court case demonstrates critical thinking skills to decide what will be the logical choice for an issue. If the people involved in murder case did not use evidence, such as the people involved, the setting, photos, and more details to solve a case, the case would be based on bias and superficial reasoning. People use reason to decide whether the defendant is found guilty and we also decide court rulings based on critical thinking and listening to other people's perspectives. This is how moral decisions are made in the court system by listening to other people's observation and their analysis of the case.

Additionally, higher thinking helps human race and technology to advance in society. The recent project to occupy mars demonstrate individuals that use logical reasoning and science to hopefully have people live in another planet. Logical reasoning, with the combine efforts of science and perseverance demonstrate that we are not just thinking about being a moral person in society but now people are doing moral works for the future of human society.

However, it is not safe to just dismiss morality in education because we need to practice morality with logical reasoning in learning. For example, it is logically sound for us to test and experiment to produce results, but we need to test based on ethical standards. We do not want to test animals and human lives at the risk of developing a new product. If we do not use ethical measures we are undoing logical reasoning because one's life being used at the stake of a project that may or may not work.

In sum, it is important to base the foundation of education on logical reasoning. We have been using logic to advance society and even for the good of society.