GRE issue---Government support or restrict scientific research

Please help me to revise this issue.

Thanks!

69"Government should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development"

The progress of our society relies much on the scientific research and development. Whether government should restrict or support the scientific research have aroused many disputes since the past few years. Addmitedly, some of scientific research achievements can be directly used by society, and some accomplishments made by the scientists could aid human being to explore the law of universe and the origin of our ancestors. To these researches, government should not place much restriction and, conversely, should support their development. However, to some controversial research fields, especially those that may threaten our moral baseline and endanger our existence, government should, and must place some regulations on them.

To begin with, the progress of the society actually require the technical support from scientific research. Government wishes those fruits could be immediately applied in social production and make fortune for our society. For this purpose, the government, of course, should not constrain scientific research and development. The applied science, "born" are to create more convenient life facilities for people and to improve the productivity of society. After World war 2, the boom of civil engineering, enables governments to construct more infrastructure such as bridges, roads and buildings, with higher reliability and better comfort. Besides, with the rapid development of mechanical engineering and electronical engieering in last century, the assembly line has replaced the manual work which has greatly increased the productivity. The prosperity of the electrical engineering has provided us with more convenient equipments---fridge, micro-wave oven, etc. which helped to save us much time to do other work.

In addition, governments should not narrow their sight only in applied science which can bring immediate effects. However, they should pay much attention to the experimental science which not only supply the theoretical foundation for applied science, but also possesses more far-reaching implications for the development of mankind. As a result, government should greatly support and fund these researches. For example, biologists do research on stem cells which makes it possible for us to use artifical organs to replace dying ones, and this research is beneficial to prolong our life; research on chemical and nuclear medicine can prevent diseases such as cancers in their tracks from happening; the exploration on the outer space can impress us with the understanding of the origin of univers and life.

However, the purpose of introducing nature enemies into a species is to obtain better growth for the species. But, if we do not control the growth of the predators, the species may risk the possibility of extinction. The development of science also conform the law of nature. Any development of science without restriction may bring a disastrous outcome to the society. Therefore, government must place some regulations on them. The research of biochmeical and nuclear wepons, once used, may bring a catastrophic results to human; the research on stem cells aims to develop human cloning tremendously challenges our moral baseline. For those researhes, government must block them to develop.

When government decide whether to support or restrict science research, they should hold this pivotal principle: government should give full support to those researches that are beneficial to society and mankind, and strictly restrict those researches that may bring disasters to human and touch our moral baseline.

In sum, government should support science research and development with principle.