GRE issue 48 History is like a puzzle

THANK YOU SOOOOOO MUCH !

History is like a puzzle, with so many sides and hidden lines that all determine the compelling and disputable feature of history. People's various interpretations to a period of history never cease and the famous few always remain the heat discussions in past and now. While some may question whether the famous few are paid undue attention by the study of history for groups of people that be left to the corner are, in fact, the true hero. I believe the development of history has already given its answer, the focus never and should not change.

Admittedly, the influence of groups of people on the history is undeniable, without whom, a great part of important incidents can not make a difference in history. The power of any individual is quite limited, it is the joint work of public that finally form a strong force to change the course of history. One man's voice and absence is not likely to call the attention of company board, but strike of thousand of workers or more are effective to make the leaders to listen to the workers' requests.

Nevertheless, the famous few play as the catalyst or pistol in movements in human history, they possess distinguish qualities that deserve big attention in history records. Not like the followers and majority people, these individuals usually endeavoured great efforts and run high risks to become outstanding. Never is it easy to gain the supports from the public as they had to first work against the accepted rules as well as persuade others to realize the existing problems and join their group. Consider about the perilous social environment, how brave and intelligent were Martin Luther King to give such a sensational and inspiring speech before thousands of people, speaking out the problems and calling on all the black to fight together. No doubt, the outstanding few their personal spirit, courage and wisdom made them naturally attractive to the historians and audiences. Besides, it is difficult and impossible to record and comment the complex and numerous roles of the mass played in the history. They are mostly remembered as a whole of the hope of human in light of following the trend of social development.

Moreover, History is a book from which people get to know themselves and learn humanity; in essence, it is recorded based on culture and value. The emphasis on individuals rightly show that history value these merits and the stories are of educational meaning in encouraging people to pursue truth, freedom, equality and all the other merits needed for a better world. These few individual best represent the cherishable virtue of mankind.

In brief, though the process of human society is achieved by the joint efforts of groups of people, the few individual, however, can never be over-emphasis in history study, judging their own compelling personal charm and representativeness of human merits.