GRE Issue Task: The idea to tell students which subject their should study

Question

Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Essay

Should schools advise students what curriculum they should choose?

Education is the most important skill set that can be taught to a child. Education helps in perceiving the world from a different point of view, and it gives the person a basic framework on which other skills can be built/build. Unfortunately, a large part of the world population is still illiterate and educational institutions play a major role in imparting education. An educational institution has all the right tools such as books, teachers and student bodies which play a key role in helping people succeed in their chosen fields of study. They provide students guidance and help them to tread the paths they have picked. But an educational institution should never tell students that they will not succeed in some particular field. In my opinion, an institution cannot decide the fields in which students are unlikely to succeed.

The question arises that who will judge the likelihood of students becoming successful in a particular field? Who will give authority to decide the future of a student to another human being? Are the teachers educated enough to take such decisions, and even if they are educated what do they know about the future? Can we rely on the judgment of a human being to decide the path a student should take? This is an illogical, an irrational and a morally corrupt idea. Influencing the dreams and shaping the future of a person is essential, but they should not be overwritten. Young minds are full of dreams, and passions and telling them that they cannot pursue their dreams because they are not capable enough is equivalent to robbing them of their dreams.

There is no particular age for a person to choose or change his field of study. Many people have successfully changed the course of their lives and became very successful in a different field of study, and many made this switch at not so young age. These people are known in the world because of their career shifts, and luckily there was no one to tell them that they should not pursue their dreams. Colonel Sanders started KFC chicken at the age of 62, before that he was serving the country as a lawyer and a gas station operator. It can be a myth, but many believe that dreams and desires will become true if enough hard work, perseverance, and dedication exist.

A lot of people succeed after many failures, like them, a student can succeed in any field he wants to study. Thomas Edison invented the light bulb after many failures and experiments. Robert Goddard was the inventor of liquid propellant rockets, and he also failed many times in his attempt to create a successful rocket. He once mentioned that every vision is a joke until a common man accomplishes it, and then it becomes commonplace. Thus all great leaders, inventors, writers, sportsman are born as a common human being, and it all starts with a dream. No one has the right to kill that dream or tell anyone that a dream cannot be realised.

Thus, the educational institutions should never interfere with the subjects students pick; rather they should try their best in helping students to succeed in their chosen field of study.