ISSUE OF IMPORTANCE - UT APP ESSAY; Our failing education system!

Education has become the core of our modern society, yet it still inhabits many complications. The public education system in the United States has failed many and continues to show flaws in the process of teaching students. Although, the American Government has implemented the No Child Left Behind Act, the trend of failing students still causes many to be left uneducated, unemployed, and impoverished. Furthermore, public schools nationwide have fallen behind in educating their students, and have advanced in stifling creativity and lowering self confidence. Although, higher education has become mandatory to have a successful career, it is challenging for many students to receive this education due to the faults in the public schooling system. The public education system currently focuses more on grades and achievement rather than comprehension of the topics resulting in future generations that are deteriorating in actual knowledge.

One of the main issues in the public education system is the high pressure to make an 'A'. During my time in high school, students were forced to balance their grades, extra curricular activities, and a "social" life while being constantly bombarded with projects, quizzes, and tests from each of their seven classes. This left many students feeling stressed, frustrated, and more inclined to cheat.

Because there is a vast amount of information to learn from a wide variety of subjects with so little time to prepare, students never actually acquire intelligence. Instead, they train themselves to memorize information only to regurgitate it on a test. When students do not have the knowledge of a subject and are forced to take a test, they are more willing to cheat because they feel the need to make a satisfactory grade. In high school, I observed the students that were most inclined to cheat were the Advanced Placement(AP) students. AP students who are academically dishonest and never get caught in their fraudulent activities move further up in class ranks than the students who vigorously study a subject's content. Most students have the knowledge of the subject but never advance to the next level of comprehension in Bloom's taxonomy. Therefore, the public school system teaches children for the moment, but never equips them with information they can apply later in life.

It is no doubt that throughout high school, I had many peers who were skeptic about education. They believed what they were learning was not significant to their forthcoming life. They accepted the thought that they were in school solely to socialize and receive their diploma rather than getting prepared for tertiary school. I have witnessed these students accept their fate in underachieving. Instead of making the wise investment of college, they become reliant on the government and minimum wage jobs. These people are the prime example of the failure of the education system.

It is important for our society to not allow these situations to occur. The issues within public school education are crucial for future generations. If resolutions are never reached, then the population of simple minded people will significantly increase. Without educated people, The United States will begin to lack innovators and leaders. Thus causing problems in our upcoming society and economy. The strive for furthering knowledge will slowly degrade, allowing the America