GRE issue41---nonmainstream areas of inquiry VS mainstream science

41." Such nonmainstream areas of inquiry as astrology, fortune-telling and psychic and paranormal pursuits play a vital role in society by satisfying human needs that are not addressed by mainstream science."

In general, I agree with the assertion that nonmainstream areas such as astrology, fortune-telling and paranormal pursuits play a pivotal role in meeting human psychological demands, just as what the speaker says. However, it seems to be useless or even harmful in terms of improving social development and enriching people's mental world.

Admittedly, these non-mainstream areas belong to the ideology sphere can provide one some hint about his or her life in order to address certain human curiosity about developments of future, which, in the mean time, largely enhances our own self-awareness. All of these things, however, cannot be inherently done by mainstream science and other area of intellectual inquiry .It seems to be widely used especially when people confronted with infinite choices. In ancient time, for example, the king would seek advices from fortune-tellers before he started a war or made a crucial decision. In ancient China, emperors even had court astrologers and special diviners, who predicted the future using a special complex system called I Ching. Also in ancient Rome, special priests called augurs predicts by interpreting certain signs in nature. Understandably, to get rid of such bad feelings as anxiety, helpless and confusion, many people tend to shift the burdened state of mind arising from tough decisions to some mysterious interstellar philosophy.

Yet, upon further reflection it becomes clear that non-mainstream areas can provide psychological solace, which does not mean they are dispensable parts of society or beneficial for social progress and individuals. In the first place, because these pursuits are not rooted in scientific theories; instead trying to establish a doubtful connection between the movements or positions of celestial bodies and human affairs, as a pseudoscience, obviously they are not sufficient to offer guidelines on solving real problems. On the contrary, they will not remain the present position or even in all likelihood, be superseded so long as they are proved to be unreasonable. For instance, the geocentric theory, which was perceived as the faith by our ancestors during the ancient times, reveals that Earth is really the centre of the universe which was blended with sorts of subjective colors. However, it was gradually replaced by the heliocentric model of Copernicus from the late 16th century onwards. This illustrates the point that ~~~.

Besides, if someone has blind faith in predictions, he or she will be vulnerable to paranormal authority: being addicted to self-righteous arrogance, false hopes, fantastic ideas and even delusions, which is the result of stubborn adherence to irrational thoughts. It is no denying that running without common sense is nothing less than a form of bringing ruin upon itself. Consider, for example, it is standard practice for a young woman calls on a fortune-teller to forecast her little son's life, for the sake of profits, the fortune-teller is prone to fabricate the so-called "white lie", which has rendered the parent indulgent with her child's growing-up. Of course, this trend is not restricted to some country or special kind of historical environment, but a fact universally exists. Even scientific theories everyone should hold a skeptical attitude toward them, not to speak of the paranormal phenomenon---are far more necessary to identify their negative effects.

In sum, I concede that non-mainstream areas are accessible insofar as they can comfort individuals' soul. However, when they try to eclipse logic and reason as a disguised form of affecting or even misleading people's judgments and behaviors, they will be classified as of no account---They should be seriously condemned rather than condoned one more time. Accordingly, when you are confronted with the choice between the factual subversion and reconstructive value---to be or not to be---the answer lies in its unspeakable wisdom.