GRE issue; Over the past year, our late-night news... Memorandum from business manager of TV station

Hi,

I would like a feedback regarding my essay; grammar-wise, vocab use, context addressed, and analytical writing. Score estimates are also very welcome :)

Question

The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Response

The argument above explains the desicion from the business manager to restore the time allocated to weather and local news. However the arguments used to support the decision are dubious and specious at best.

It is stated in the memorandum that most complaints recieved during the past year are concerned about the coverage of weather and local news. However it is not stated what specific complaints are sent. The information is important to avoid jumping into wrong conclusions. If the viewers complain about the decrease of time allocated for weather and local news then the business manager's decision is justified. But consider the viewers complain about the lack of quality in weather and local news program, then the decision made should be about improving the program quality rather than restoring program time.

Another point stated is that local businesses that used to advertise during late-night news program are canceling contracts. It is unclear why do the business retract their contracts. They may cancel advertising contracts because weather and local news generate more publicity and revenue for them compared to national news. On the other hand, the contracts cancelled may be caused by the businesses decision to hold their money due to internal crisis. If internal crisis is the cause, reallocating time for weather and local news will not have a positive effect on advertising revenues. Thus the business manager should probe into the reasons why local businesses cancel the contracts before announcing the decision.

The memorandum also assumes that by restoring time for weather and local news, more viewers will be attracted. This is a baseless assumption, as no data is provided. A credible survey for viewers is needed to verify the assumption. Consider the data collected throughout the survey concludes majority of viewers are interested in watching the television station if weather and local news are restored to former time levels, then the business manager's decision is acceptable. However if the survey concludes that there are other programs that can attract more viewers such as sports and movies, then another strategy needs to be implemented.

As stated above, stronger evidence is needed to support the business manager's claim. Thus the decision made by the business manager needs to be reevaluated because the arguments offered as support are not strong enough.