GRE ISSUE - People who make decisions based on emotion

Hi,

I started preparing for AWA for GRE, an i'm hoping form some advice.

Thanks in advance!

People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Emotions are a human's basic instinct. This issue revolving people who make decisions based on emotions is quite an interesting one. Furthering to that we are face with another issue of people trying to justify those decisions. I agree with the presented statement and will be providing some examples as to why.

Let us first talk about people who take decisions based on emotions. Taking myself as an example, I have always regretted taking a decision on the heat of the moment. When in anger we tend to be rash. At that split moment it is clear what should be done, but no thought is given as to whether it's the right thing to do or not. The saying "Sleep on it" is not famous for nothing. After a good night's sleep, we tend to think more clearly, then when we're in emotional distress. This is not just circumstantial evidence either. Many studies and statistics have been undertaken regarding this subject, and they tend to drive towards the same point. To try and justify these reactions is to deny there is anything wrong with it. If it's harmless it could be forgiven, but what if its not. A kindergarten teacher infuriated by the class not heeding to her, hits a student. She justifies it by saying she is disciplining them. A man, not being able to control himself, rapes a girl coming out of a bar, justifies it by saying she is too scantily clothed, dancing with other men. It scars the person who is the object of a person's emotional decision.

Mahatma Gandhi was not very apt at English. He said, in his autobiography, that was what saved him from many troubles. Reason is that it was hard to process what others say and for him to reply back. In the process, he said, he was able to take that time to analyse what to reply, instead of speaking rashly. That caused his whole demeanour to be portrayed as a calm and non belligerent person. And we all know it was one of the main aspects of his captivating personality. When we look into history, many leaders are not quick to succumbed to their emotions. Even if they were, they'd certainly not justify themselves afterwards.

Justifying a decision they made based on emotion, tends to make them do it again. They'd get the impression that since its justifiable, it's okay to do it. In conclusion, I agree with the statement and I hope the points provided above will showcase as to why I agree.